​Tired body, exhausted mind,

Eyes that can see, but I am blind.

Lie down to sleep,

To fall into dreams, deep,

To escape into another world,

To set the sails unfurled.

But sleep evades me,

And thoughts run free,

Memories rush in uninvited,

Ghosts of the past incited.

Memories of a time, long lost,

Of a time I was happy the most.

Now an instrument of my woe,

But something I can’t seem to let go.

The love that made me and broke me,

Once spectacular, now debris.

What have I unleashed,

My own Pandora’s Box!

I mutter, still searching for sleep,

“He was, unto himself, a paradox”.

Leave a Reply

